Victor Sierra - Imperfect Meridians

1951   0   2   0  

CD Listing

Victor Sierra
Total time

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Sierra Styled Steam Punk
Overall rating 


March 01, 2021
‘Victor Sierra’ is a Paris-based Steampunk Band formed by Bob Eisenstein (Commander Bob) and Anouk Adrien (The Legendary Converted Princess) together with Pierre Papa (Big Machine).
I have to be honest and say that the expression ‘Steampunk’ was a new phenomenon for me and so I subsequently checked with Goggle to learn that it is a retro-futuristic subgenre of science fiction that incorporates technology and aesthetic designs inspired by 19th-century industrial steam-powered machinery. ‘Phew!!!’ So with that sorted, I was then easily able to apply the definition to the music of ‘Victor Sierra’ and more specifically their album ‘Imperfect Meridians’ which, is the subject of this review.
And so ‘Steampunk’ is very much a cult movement related to a fashion ideal surrounding the use of flying goggles, exotic hair styling, bold jewellery, body modification and make-up all of which is evident when viewing the accompanying artwork. Clearly and integral to the ‘Steampunk’ identity the music is loud, brash and colourfal. A visionary spectacle projected through and displayed by live performance. Central to the spectacle are powerfully projected clipped mono-tone vocals with an easy sing-along, crowd-pleasing, chorus lines. These are delivered against a noisy backbeat seemingly created by industrial pneumatic machinery generating a percussive thumping which, in a sense, forms a majestic wall of percussive sound.
The expressive vocals follow an interesting arrangement of being clipped in delivery. This is facilitated by clever musical articulation effecting a very emphatic but ‘tongue in cheek’ presentation. Even though the bulk of the lead vocal duties fall to ‘Anouk Adrien’ there are some beautifully worked out vocal interchanges and clever support harmonies adding fun and much humour to the songs.
Whilst the core of the centre of the proceedings around the heavy backbeat and staccato delivered vocals there is a whole host of interesting musical incursions going which are intermingled within the mix. Nice slices of guitar, deeply resonant strings and swathes of keyboard fill the spaces to add colour, flavour and excitement. Excitement is the operative word and the glue to the attraction of this band which would, I’m sure, be an amazing spectacle to see live. An occasion to be fully immersed within the enormously fun atmosphere of theatrical ‘Steam Punk’ madness.

CD Track Listing:
1. The Witness
2. Chinese Whispers
3. In The Long Run
4. H (Is For Hydrogen)
5. Time Roulette
6. One More Mile
7. Last Train To Siberia
8. (Don't Do As) Simon Says
9. Cold Blue Night
10. Zero Light Thirty
11. Industry
12. Volcano

271 reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 1 0